By Kaitlyn Marlowe

Senior, number 55, Andrew Merritt, “is a very hard worker and he really wants to be the best” said coach Warren.

Q: How long have you been playing football?

A: “I have been playing for eight years.”

Q: What position do you play?

A: “I have played defensive end, fullback, tight end, and left guard. Fullback is my favorite.”

Q: Why did you start playing football?

A: “I played lots of sports and I hadn’t tried football yet. It became my favorite sport.”

Q: Do you have a favorite football memory?

A: “I would say beating Maryville freshman year. It was an awesome team effort and stopping them in overtime was great.”

Q: Will you try to play football in college?

A: “No. I would rather focus on school and not risk too many injuries.”

Q: Which teams are your favorite to play against?

A: “I would say Bearden because it is a game with a lot of rivalry weight and Maryville because they are always the top dog and we want to take them down.”

Q: Do you have a favorite college or pro team?

A: “FSU is my favorite college team because my parents went there and I went to my first game when I was three years old. The Jaguars are my favorite pro team because my grandfather is from Jacksonville so I’ve been able to go to a few games.”

Q: Do you play any other sports?

A: “I played soccer, basketball, baseball, and football, but football is my favorite.”

Q: If you could give any advice to your teammates what would it be?

A: “Coach Jones big thing has been committing to every facet of the game. Committing to each other, to the school, to the job you have to do. This game is so much more than just being interested. You have to have the desire to be committed.”

Q: How does it feel to be making history as the first team to have a home playoff game?

A: “It feels really awesome. Playing this game at Hardin Valley makes me feel like I am really apart of history. Since the school is so new no one has done this. We have been working for three years and we will take this opportunity and make as big of a run in playoffs as we can.”

