By Kaitlyn Marlowe

Thomas Clay, number 1, is a “smart player and a playmaker for the team,” said coach Caballero.

Q: How long have you been playing football?

A: “Around eleven years.”

Q: What positions do you play?

A: “I am a wide receiver.”

Q: Why did you start playing football?

A: “Well, my dad and my brother played, so I thought I should.”

Q: Do you have a favorite football memory?

A: “My youth league went to the national championship in Daytona, and it was cool to be on the beach and playing football.”

Q: Will you try to play football in college? If so, where?

A: “I am trying to play in college, but I am not sure where.”

Q: Do you have a favorite college and pro team?

A: “Favorite college team is LSU because my brother and my father went there. I don’t have a favorite pro team, but I love Odell Beckham Jr..”

Q: Have you played any other sports?

A: “Yes, I played basketball and soccer, and I did gymnastics for about three years.”

img_6143
Clay, right, with Jeremiah Russell, left, after the Hawks win against South Doyle. Photo by Kaitlyn Marlowe

 

Q: If you could give any advice to your teammates, what would it be?

A: “Give me the ball. No, probably just to stay humble because there is always going to be room to improve.”

