By: Kaitlyn Marlowe

Senior number eight, Jeremiah Russell, started playing at HVA junior year and has become a key member of the football team.

Q: What positions do you play?

A: “I am a running back and linebacker.”

Q: Why did you start playing football?

A: “Honestly, I like that I get to hit people.”

Q: What is your favorite football memory?

A: “Scoring the game winning touchdown at State when I was only a sophomore.”

Q: Which teams are your favorite to play?

A: “Blount County, Dobbyns-Bennett, Maryville and now West since I’m competing against a team I played for.”

Q: Will you try to play football in college?

A: “I will definitely try to play. I plan on going wherever I can get the best scholarship to.”

Q: Do you have favorite college and pro teams?

A: “Ohio State is my favorite college team and the Carolina Panthers are my favorite NFL team because of Cam Newton.”

jer-and-colton
Jeremiah, left, standing with Colton Burns, right, at the Bearden game. Photo taken by Kaitlyn Marlowe

 

Q: Have you played any other sports?

A: “I also played basketball and baseball.”

Q: What advice would you give to your teammates?

A: “Play hard, give effort, and play like this is your last game. Leave it all on the field.”

